Thursday, February 13, 2014

Blind Speed Dating #1 (PB)


Genre: Picture Book
Word Count: 498-words


No nightlight? No problem! Just use bugs.

FLIGHT OF THE NIGHTLIGHTS is a 498-word picture book for ages 3-8.  In this sibling story, Jonah teaches Maggie how to make a firefly-powered-nightlight. Their bright idea works…until they wake up to find that their blinking bugs have escaped. The race is on as Jonah and Maggie work to catch all of those tricky fireflies again before morning.

In many areas of the world, including most of the United States, lightning bugs are as much a part of summertime as bare-feet and bicycles. FLIGHT OF THE NIGHTLIGHTS incorporates that magic into a silly story that would appeal to fans of Ladybug Girl and Bingo and Little Owls Night.  End notes include an optional how-to guide to make and care for your own bug-light.

I am a Sociology Professor with a BA in English and an active member of the SCBWI.  I have six completed picture books.

No comments:

Post a Comment